Mongrel Boots Honda Racing rider Brett Metcalfe heads West to race Manjimup 15,000!

The first Manjimup 15,000 Motocross race took place back in 1980 where the inaugural winner, Roger Harvey went on to manage HRC in Europe. In 1983, Darryl Willoughby became the first South Australian to win the famous event.

In 2021, Mongrel Boots Honda Racing rider Brett Metcalfe hopes to achieve the win on board his CRF450R and take the title back to his home state of South Australia.

“I’ve always wanted to race the Manjimup 15,000 so I am really grateful for the opportunity. My dad has wanted me to race it for so long, he talks about Darryl’s win and how it’s been almost 40 years since a South Australian has won the event,” said Metcalfe.

Legends of motocross from all over the world have travelled to compete in the famous Western Australian event over the years, which played host to the Motocross of Nations and a 125 World MX GP.

Metcalfe acknowledges the historical prestige of winning this event; “Leisk, Bell, Dack, Anderson, McFarlane, Britain’s Rob Herring, American’s Jim Ellis, Eddie Warren and the late Paul Broomfield have all won the Manjimup 15,000. There is real significance behind winning this event and I am going to give it all I have,” said Metcalfe.

The lockdown in Victoria has meant the full Honda Racing team cannot head West for the event, so it’s a family affair for team Metcalfe.

“My team and mechanic unfortunately couldn’t come over as planned so my dad will be my mechanic and in between my races I’ll be my son’s mechanic, as Nash will be racing as well. We are all pretty excited, it’s very cool and something we will all remember,” said Metcalfe.

The event has drawn several top ten national competitors and will run from the 4th – 6th June, 2021 at the Cosy Creek motocross circuit, Manjimup.


Go to Top